Courts We Serve
- Nursing home workers settle contract disputes in Union City, Teaneck, Perth Amboy
- Sneak peek: 12 things about N.J.'s new Zinburger (PHOTOS)
- Photos, texts from ex-Rutgers player's phone can be used at trial, judge rules
- Whale makes a dramatic appearance near Perth Amboy
- Glimpse of History: Seaside in Sewaren
Driving Without Insurance
Sayreville Driving Without Insurance Defense Lawyer
Driving without insurance charges are becoming more prevalent in Middlesex County as the number of police cars outfitted with license plate readers. It is no longer necessary for you to commit a moving motor vehicle offense to draw the attention to your uninsured vehicle. Law enforcement along the New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and patrolling roadways in municipalities like Old Bridge Sayreville, Woodbridge and South Amboy now have a much greater opportunity to pinpoint those who commit a driving without insurance offense. If you received a summons and were charged with operating while uninsured, you need to do your best to avoid a conviction by hiring the best defense lawyer you can afford. Failure to secure a dismissal of the driving without insurance ticket will automatically result in a driver’s license suspension of at least one year and jail if this is your second offense. The good news is that Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver has an excellent track record in representing motorist like you. Our attorneys avert convictions under N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 all the time. To speak to an attorney about the specifics of your charge, call our Woodbridge Office at 732-634-0700.
Woodbridge Driving Without Insurance Charge
As previously stated, a driving without insurance charge arises out of N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2. This is one of the most serious traffic violations a person can face. Only possession of CDS in a motor vehicle and DWI can rival the penalties that are triggered for this offense. In order to convict someone on a summons of this nature, the prosecutor must prove that: (1) you were the operator of a motor vehicle; and (2) the vehicle was uninsured at that time. The municipal court judge in Woodbridge or another municipality is permitted, however, to draw an inference that the vehicle is uninsured if a valid insurance card is not produced at the time of trial. A motorist cannot attempt to refute this presumption by demonstrating, for example, that coverage on the car, truck, motorcycle or other vehicle was wrongfully cancelled. In this regard, a insurer may only cancel coverage if one of the statutory basis for proper cancellation exist.
Penalties for Driving An Uninsured Vehicle. The fine for a first offense is $300 to $1,000 and there is a mandatory one year suspension of driving privileges upon conviction. If you plead or are found guilty of a second offense (or subsequent) in South Amboy, Edison or anther court, the fine is discretionary with a maximum of $5,000. There is also thirty (30) days of community service, a two year driver’s license suspension and a fourteen (14) day county jail sentence. The Division of Motor Vehicle levies a $250 surcharge for three years against anyone who is convicted of operating without insurance. Nine (9) insurance points are also assessed which typically render a person unable to acquire coverage through the voluntary insurance market.
Monroe NJ Operating With Insurance Attorney
As you can see, the penalties that are imposed in Monroe or elsewhere in New Jersey for driving without insurance are severe. This is a primary reason why hiring a skilled attorney is so important. The lawyers at Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver are former prosecutors who have handled too many uninsured motorist cases to even quantify. We certainly know the ins and outs of effectively defending this charge in Monroe, East Brunswick, Edison and Carteret. If you are interested in averting the penalties for driving without insurance, contact our East Brunswick Office now at 732-227-1200.