Courts We Serve
- 27 December, 2016
- 26 December, 2016
- 3 December, 2016
Metuchen Simple Assault Attorney
Simple Assault Offense in Metuchen New Jersey
Contact a Former Metuchen Prosecutor at our Law Firm To Discuss Your Simple Assault Charge
Do not make the mistake of believing that a simple assault offense in Metuchen New Jersey is something you should be defending without an attorney. A simple assault charge is criminal in nature and results in record upon conviction. There are also a host of penalties that may be imposed, including a period of incarceration. With so much at stake, it is important that you retain a savvy defense lawyer if you have been charged with simple assault in Metuchen.
The team of attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are poised to defend your Metuchen simple assault charge. Our team has over 100 years of collective experience defending assault charges in Middlesex County and includes a former prosecutor of the Metuchen Municipal Court. One of our lawyers is ready to provide an aggressive, hard-hitting defense focused on avoiding a conviction. Contact our New Brunswick Office at (732) 634-0700 to speak to an attorney immediately in a free consultation.
Simple Assault Charge in Metuchen
N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a) defines the offense of simple assault under New Jersey Law. An individual may be convicted of a simple assault charge in Metuchen if they:
- Purposely, knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person or attempt to cause such bodily injury;
- Negligently cause bodily injury to another person with a deadly weapon; or
- Engage in physical menace to attempt to put someone in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Any device, instrument or substance capable of causing death or serious bodily injury to another person is a “deadly weapon” under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1(c). Examples of deadly weapons includes a hammer, screwdriver or baseball bat or just about anything else capable of inflicting serious injury or worse.
You should also know that when a simple assault is committed and the victim is a police officer, teacher, fireman or other individual covered by 2C:12-1b(5), the conduct results in a Metuchen aggravated assault offense.
Penalties for Simple Assault in Metuchen. The penalties at sentencing for a Metuchen simple assault offense include a fine of up to $1,000 and the possibility of up to 6 months in the Middlesex County Jail. These ramifications are reduced to a maximum jail sentence of 30 days and a fine maximum fine of $500 when the incident is the result of a mutually agreed to fight. The court may also impose probation, community service, counseling or even suspend your driver’s license. Many of these penalties can be avoided if you are a first time offender and are granted a conditional dismissal.
A simple assault can lead to even greater consequences if the victim is an individual protected under N.J.S.A. 2C:25-19 because then the conduct is considered domestic violence. The incident can result in issuance of a restraining order when this protection is triggered. An individual qualifies in this manner if they are related to the defendant as follows:
- Wife or husband (or former)
- Boyfriend or girlfriend (or former)
- Some he/she has dated
- Resided in the same household
- Have a child in common
For additional information on this subject, you can consult our Metuchen domestic violence page.
Metuchen NJ Simple Assault Defense Lawyer
Representation by an attorney from who is adept in defending simple assault charges in Metuchen can provide invaluable assistance protecting your record and future. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have this quality and are ready to diligently work to secure an acquittal. To reach a lawyer with the knowledge and skill to help you, contact our office anytime 24/7. Attorneys are available now to assist you at 732-634-0700.