• We are

    Available 24/7
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Free Consultations
Piscataway Office
New Brunswick Office
East Brunswick Office
Woodbridge Office
Call Now

Middlesex County Criminal Defense Lawyer

  • Over 100 Years of Combined Experience
  • Practice Exclusively in DUI & Criminal Defense
  • Former County & Municipal Prosecutors
  • Decades of Case Success Stories

Middlesex Borough NJ Traffic Ticket Attorney

Call Our Former Middlesex County Prosecutors To Defend Your Motor Vehicle Offense for Driving While Suspended, Speeding, Reckless Driving, Driving Without Insurance or Another Violation

No one wants to take a day off from work to sit in Middlesex Borough Municipal Court to fight a traffic ticket. If you are like most people who get a ticket for speeding, reckless driving, failing to signal or any of the many other traffic violations for which police can write tickets, you probably think the easiest thing to do is plead guilty and pay the fine. While that approach might save you time, it could end up costing you thousands of dollars in higher auto insurance premiums and might lead to the suspension of your license.

The Middlesex Borough traffic ticket attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall take the hassle out of fighting a traffic ticket and provide you with skilled legal professionals who know the laws and give you the best chance at a dismissal of the charges. Our defense lawyers have more than a century of experience in traffic courts throughout the state, including the Middlesex Borough Municipal Court.  An attorney with experience as former county and municipal prosecutors is available to assist you at our firm. Call us now at (732) 562-0308 to speak with an attorney and find out how we can help. The consultation is free, and a lawyer is available 24 hours a day.

Traffic Offense in Middlesex Borough New Jersey

People mistakenly believe that pleading guilty and paying a fine puts an end to a traffic ticket. What they do not realize is the law requires the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to maintain a record of the traffic violations committed by New Jersey motorists. It does this through a system that places points on your driving record for each moving violation. Parking violations or malfunctioning equipment, such as headlights and taillights, do not result in points being added to your record because they are not classified as moving violations.

Speeding, reckless driving and improper passing are examples of a few of the many moving violations in New Jersey. If you are found guilty following a hearing in Middlesex Borough Municipal Court or plead guilty without a hearing, notice of the conviction is sent to the MVC. The number of points the MVC posts to your driving record depends upon the particular traffic violation of which you were convicted. For example, the following are some common traffic violations and the points associated with each of them:

  •   N.J.S.A. 27:23-29 – Improper passing – 4 points

  •   N.J.S.A. 39:4-82 – Failure to keep right – 2 points

  •   N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 – Reckless driving – 5 points

  •   N.J.S.A. 39:4-89 – Tailgating – 5 points

  •   N.J.S.A. 39:4-91-92 – Failing to yield to emergency vehicles – 2 points

  •   N.J.S.A. 39:4-105 – Failing to stop for traffic light – 2 points

The points recorded on your record for a speeding violation depend upon the number of miles per hour you were doing over the speed limit as follows:

  •   Up to 14 mph over the speed limit – 2 points

  •   15-29 mph over the limit – 4 points

  •   30 mph or more over the limit – 5 points

If you accumulate six or more points during a three-year period, you must pay a $150 surcharge to the state and an additional $25 for each point in excess of six. Twelve or more points on your driving record within a three-year period cause MVC to suspend your license to drive.

The state is not the only one keeping track of the points on your driving record. Your auto insurance company reviews your record when you apply for insurance or when it is time to renew your policy. Insurance companies charge higher premiums when drivers have points from moving violations on their record. Depending upon the underwriting policies of your insurance company, it could refuse to renew your policy based upon a poor driving record.

There are also some motor vehicle violations that can results in even more severe punishment, including a suspension of your driver’s license and even jail. The headings below outline some of the more common Middlesex traffic offenses that carry these kind of stakes.

Driving While Suspended in Middlesex New Jersey

Driving while suspended is one of the more common serious traffic offenses heard in Middlesex Borough Municipal Court. A conviction for violating N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 for driving while you are suspended in accordance with order of the DMV (e.g. points, failure to pay surcharges, etc.) or Court Order (e.g. driving without insurance, DWI or prior driving while revoked, etc.) carries serious penalties. There are significant fines and an additional period of suspension that must be imposed. If it is your third or subsequent offense, you must also serve 10 days in jail if convicted. The ramifications are even worse if the suspension is for DWI or Refusal.

Middlesex Driving Without Insurance Ticket

A first offense for driving without insurance is serious with a mandatory suspension of one year, on top of fines and surcharges. For a second offense, you face a two year suspension, up to $5,000 in fines and a mandatory county jail term of 14 days.

Middlesex Reckless Driving Summons

When someone is convicted on a summons for reckless driving in Middlesex Boro or anywhere else, it exposes them to the possibility of a license suspension. In addition, the court may impose up to 60 days in jail. A second or subsequent offense carries the possibility of 90 days of incarceration.  All of this is on top of the enhanced car insurance premium you will pay if convicted of a Middlesex reckless driving ticket.

Middlesex Boro Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle Violation

Possession of CDS in a motor vehicle under N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1 is one of the most serious traffic charges someone can face in Middlesex New Jersey. A conviction for a first offense results in a two year suspension of your driving privileges.

Middlesex Borough NJ Traffic Offense Defense Attorney

Don’t risk the consequences associated with a traffic violation conviction. Let the Middlesex Borough traffic ticket lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall fight the tick on your behalf. A defense attorney is available 24 hours a day and seven days a week to talk to you in a free consultation. Call our Piscataway Office at (732) 562-0308 for immediate assistance.

Related Middlesex NJ Pages & Posts

Middlesex New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney