Courts We Serve
- 27 December, 2016
- 26 December, 2016
- 3 December, 2016
New Brunswick Underage Drinking Lawyer
If You Have Been Charged With Possessing or Consuming Alcohol Underage by the Rutgers Police or New Brunswick Police, Let A Former New Brunswick Municipal Prosecutor At Our Firm Defend You.
You may think that an arrest for underage drinking or possessing alcohol under legal drinking age is a minor offense. Let’s be honest, compared to a DWI offense or a felony drug charge, underage drinking is not that big of a deal, right? This is not so since a conviction for underage drinking results in fines and the possibility of a driver’s license, as well as a jail sentence. You should also know that underage drinking (a.k.a. consumption of alcohol underage) is a criminal offense that results in a record that can impact your ability to obtain employment, will be revealed on an application to graduate school or renewal of immigration. This is one reason why you should retain a capable defense lawyer to defend you against this charge.
Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our attorneys are savvy litigators who have been defending charges in New Brunswick for decades. In fact, one of the lawyers on our staff is a former prosecutor in New Brunswick Municipal Court so we certainly know our way around the court system. For a free consultation with an attorney at the firm any time of day or night, contact our New Brunswick Office at 732-246-7126.
§ 2C:33-15 Possession or Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages by Person Under Legal Age
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, a person under the age of 21 cannot possess or be under the influence of alcohol in a public place or motor vehicle. You can face this offense if you possess alcohol in a fraternity or dorm room at Rutgers University, at local bar like Old Queens or just about any other place where people can gather.
Underage possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages is a disorderly persons offense (a misdemeanor) which, upon conviction, can result in:
• A fine up to $1,000, incarceration in county jail for up to 180, or a combination of the fine and jail time;
• A loss of your driver’s license for up to 6 months; and
• A criminal record.
The law in New Jersey is such that a person under the age of 21 can be charged with underage possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages if they have purchased alcohol, if they are in possession of alcohol, or if they are even riding in a car where alcohol is present, unless in the presence of an adult. This means you can get charged with underage possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages if your buddy has a six pack in the back of his car and you didn’t know about it.
Defending an Underage Possession or Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages Charge in New Jersey
Defending a charge for underage possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages will depend on the circumstances surrounding the arrest, including:
• Who you were with
• What you were doing before
• Why the police stopped
• What your chances are at trial.
• What kind of agreement we can make with the prosecutor before trial to avoid some of the consequences of a conviction
Often, depending on the circumstances, and whether or not this is your first offense, an experienced defense attorney can get the charge downgraded to a noncriminal offense. In this case, you still may have to pay a fine, but you will not have a criminal conviction on your record.
Underage Drinking Attorney in New Brunswick New Jersey
If you have been charged with underage possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages, hiring an experienced criminal attorney will give you the best chance to avoid the consequences of a conviction. In New Brunswick, New Jersey, contact The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall so that we can discuss your case with a lawyer who is highly experienced in defending New Brunswick underage alcohol possession and similar criminal charges. Attorneys are available 24/7 to assist you. Call 732-246-7126 to speak to one of our lawyers immediately.