Courts We Serve
MCPO Press Releases
- Where the jobs are: The biggest employers in all 21 N.J. counties
- Vintage photos of amusement parks, circuses, fairs and rides in N.J.
- Solar eclipse 2017: Map, path and forecast for viewing in your backyard
- Man who slipped on ice in Barnes & Noble parking lot settles suit for $605K
- Woodbridge hotel, banquet hall robbed at gunpoint
Possession of an Illegal Weapon
Woodbridge NJ Prohibited Weapon Defense Lawyer
There are certain weapons that are illegal to possess in Middlesex County under any circumstance. The prohibited weapons are set forth at N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3 and include such things as a sawed off shotgun, silencer, defaced firearms, hollow and teflon tip ammunition, high capacity magazines and stun-guns. If you were arrested and charged with possession of an illegal weapon in Piscataway, Old Bridge, South Plainfield, North Brunswick or Woodbridge, the lawyers at Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver are highly capable of defending you. Jason Seidman, Esq., a former supervisor at the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office, or another attorney on our staff who has handled many prohibited weapons charges is ready to undertake preparation of your case. Contact our Piscataway Office to speak to an attorney immediately. We can be reached around the clock at 732-562-0308.
Other Weapons Offenses in New Jersey
The most prominent weapons offenses in New Jersey are unlawful possession of a weapon, possession of a weapon for an unlawful purpose and the category discussed here of possession of illegal weapons. The following is a breakdown of each of the prohibited weapons set forth under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3 along with the important points to keep in mind if you knowingly possession one of these items.
Penalties. Third degree possession of an illegal weapon results in up to 5 years in prison and a $15,000 fine. A fourth degree crime for possessing a prohibited weapon carries maximum penalties that include 18 months in state prison and a $10,000. A disorderly persons offense for possessing of a prohibited weapon can result in you being sentenced to 6 months in the county jail and a $1,000 fine.
New Brunswick NJ Illegal Weapon Attorneys
If you or a loved one has been charged with possession of defaced firearm, stun gun, hollow tipped bullets or another prohibited weapon, Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver, can help you. We are former prosecutors and skilled attorneys who have over 100 years of experience between us. A lawyer at the firm who is highly qualified to defend your charges can be reached in our New Brunwick Office now at 732-246-7126. We offer representation of those arrested anywhere in Middlesex County including in East Brunswick, Edison and Carteret.