Courts We Serve
MCPO Press Releases
- Where the jobs are: The biggest employers in all 21 N.J. counties
- Vintage photos of amusement parks, circuses, fairs and rides in N.J.
- Solar eclipse 2017: Map, path and forecast for viewing in your backyard
- Man who slipped on ice in Barnes & Noble parking lot settles suit for $605K
- Woodbridge hotel, banquet hall robbed at gunpoint
Piscataway Marijuana Possession Lawyer
If you have been charged with marijuana possession in Piscataway Township New Jersey, our lawyers have the knowledge to defend you. The team of criminal defense attorneys at Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver have defended thousands of possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana and fourth degree marijuana possession charges over the last two decades. An attorney at our firm has even served as the director of the Gangs, Guns and Drugs Task Force at the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office. To speak to a Piscataway marijuana possession lawyer, contact our Piscataway Office at 732-562-0308.
Possession of Marijuana Offense in Piscataway New Jersey
It is fairly common for individuals to assume that a possession of marijuana offense is something that can easily be handled without an attorney. This is particularly true in Piscataway where there is a high number of young adults and college students given the presence of Rutgers University (Piscataway Campus). Many of these offenses stem from charges at Highpoint Solution Stadium and elsewhere on campus. Many others are totally unrelated to college life and result from traffic stops and other encounters with the Piscataway Police Department. Irrespective of how you were ultimately charged with possessing marijuana, you need to know what you are now up against under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.
Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana. It is a disorderly persons offense, the equivalent of a misdemeanor, to possess 50 grams or less of marijuana in Piscataway. Marijuana charges of this grade fall under the jurisdiction of the municipal court. An individual is subject to a fine of $1,000, up to six months in jail, and a suspension of their license for between 6 months and two years upon being convicted of this variety of possession of marijuana.
Possession of More Than 50 Grams Of Marijuana. It is a fourth degree crime, a felony, to possess in excess of 50 grams of marijuana in Piscataway. Jurisdiction to hear this grade of violation is reserved to the Middlesex County Superior Court which is located in New Brunswick. Your case will be forwarded to this court if it involves fourth degree marijuana possession. The penalties for this offense include up to 18 months in state prison, a $10,000 fine and the same period of driver’s license suspension which was described previously.
There are two diversion programs that can come into play for first time offenders charged with possession of marijuana. Pretrial Intervention (“PTI”) applies when the offense is fourth degree possession of marijuana and conditional discharge is the program that applies to disorderly persons offenses for marijuana possession (i.e. 50 grams or less). The skilled lawyers at our firm can assist you in obtaining relief as the guidelines for admission are very strict.
Possession of Marijuana Defense Attorney in Piscataway NJ
Do not be shortsighted enough to think that possession of marijuana is a charge that you should defend on your own. Failure to successfully defend the offense will result in a criminal record that future employers, licensing boards, and other entities will be able to see. It is therefore pivotal that you do your very best to avoid a conviction. The best step you can make to accomplish this goal is to hire skilled defense attorney. The lawyers at our firm certainly have the capabilities you are looking for and are available around the clock to help you by calling 732-562-0308.