Courts We Serve
- Nursing home workers settle contract disputes in Union City, Teaneck, Perth Amboy
- Sneak peek: 12 things about N.J.'s new Zinburger (PHOTOS)
- Photos, texts from ex-Rutgers player's phone can be used at trial, judge rules
- Whale makes a dramatic appearance near Perth Amboy
- Glimpse of History: Seaside in Sewaren
New Brunswick NJ Underage DWI Defense Attorneys
An Underage DWI Charge, commonly referred to as a “Baby DWI”, is a serious offense for a young person. In New Jersey, it is illegal for anyone under the age of twenty-one (21) to operate a motor vehicle while having any level of alcohol in their blood. If a motorist under legal drinking age registers a Blood Alcohol Content of .01% or higher, he or she may be convicted of underage DWI in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14. If you or your child has been charged with an underage DWI in New Brunswick, Edison, Sayreville, Woodbridge, Old Bridge or another Middlesex County municipality, our defense attorneys are well qualified to defend you. Our firm, Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver has over 100 years of experience defending DUI related offenses throughout the county. Several members of our staff have also served as DWI prosecutors which provides them with unique insight as to how to effectively defend you underage offense. To speak to a lawyer on our team, call our New Brunswick Office at 732-246-7126.
Underage DWI Charge in Middlesex County New Jersey
The New Jersey statute governing Underage DWI is N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14. This law provides that:
§ 39:4-50.14. Penalties for underage person operating motor vehicle after consuming alcohol
Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.01% or more, but less than 0.08%, by weight of alcohol in his blood, shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State or shall be prohibited from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for a period of not less than 30 or more than 90 days beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the day of conviction, whichever is later, and shall perform community service for a period of not less than 15 or more than 30 days.
In addition, the person shall satisfy the program and fee requirements of an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or participate in a program of alcohol education and highway safety as prescribed by the chief administrator.
The penalties provided under the provisions of this section shall be in addition to the penalties which the court may impose under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, R.S. 33:1-81, R.S. 39:4-50 or any other law.
The penalties for violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 include a thirty (30) to ninety (90) day license suspension and a period of community service of not less than fifteen (15) days and no more than thirty (30) days. There is no fine set forth in the statute.
Woodbridge Underage DWI Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been charged with underage drinking and driving, the experienced DUI lawyers at Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver can help. Our attorneys defend offenses like yours throughout Middlesex County, including in Monroe, East Brunswick, South Plainfield and South Brunswick. We are the largest DWI defense firm in the state, employ several former prosecutors and have over a century of experience to rely on to successfully defend you. To speak to a lawyer on our staff immediately, call our Woodbridge Office at 732-634-0700.