Courts We Serve
- 10 January, 2020
- 21 April, 2018
- 15 April, 2018
Underage Alcohol Possession Lawyer
There are many charges for underage alcohol possession at Rutgers University and elsewhere in Middlesex County written by police every year. The unfortunate result of an offense for consuming or possessing alcohol when you are under legal drinking age of twenty-one (21) is the criminal record that results from a plea or finding of guilt under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15. The good news is that a savvy lawyer like those at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can avoid a conviction for underage drinking in most cases. It is therefore clearly in your best interest to contact our lawyers if you have been charged with this offense in Piscataway, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, Woodbridge or Edison. An attorney is available 24/7 in our New Brunswick Office to assist you by calling 732-246-7126.
Underage Alcohol Possession or Consumption Offense
Underage possession of alcohol is criminalized under 2C:33-15. This law also applies to consumption of alcohol when someone is under twenty-one (21) years old.
In New Jersey, charges for underage possession of alcohol are codified in N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 which provides in pertinent part:
§ 2C:33-15. Possession, consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons under legal age; penalty
a. Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle, is guilty of a disorderly persons offense (Expungement of Disorderly Persons Offenses) and shall be fined not less than $ 500.00.
b. Whenever this offense is committed in a motor vehicle, the court shall, in addition to the sentence authorized for the offense, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privilege of the defendant. Upon the conviction of any person under this section, the court shall forward a report to the Division of Motor Vehicles stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years.
Possessing Alcohol Underage in Piscataway NJ
If you were arrested or otherwise charged with possessing alcohol under the age of twenty-one (21) at Rutgers University or elsewhere in Piscataway New Jersey, our defense attorneys can help you. Our defense team features at least four (4) former prosecutors who have handled countless underage possession of alcohol cases. Call us for an immediate consultation at 732-246-7126