Courts We Serve
- 21 April, 2018
- 15 April, 2018
- 3 April, 2018
Helmetta Marijuana Possession Lawyer
The Former Helmetta Municipal Court Prosecutor Is Ready To Defend You.
This past summer, the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office announced the arrest of two individuals who were running a multi-million dollar marijuana growing and distribution operation based in a neighboring town. However, in New Jersey, 9 out of every 10 arrests for marijuana target marijuana users rather than dealers. Also, New Jersey police agencies spend over $100 million per year enforcing our marijuana laws. Accordingly, even though there are many efforts in New Jersey and elsewhere to legalize marijuana, possession of marijuana is still illegal in New Jersey. If the Helmetta police charged you with marijuana possession, your first call should be to an experienced criminal defense attorney. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have years of experience helping clients out of marijuana charges by securing dismissals and/or avoiding the consequences of the offense. Call us to find out what legal options are available to you and how a lawyer at the firm can help. Call us at 732-246-7126 for a free consultation with one of our attorneys now.
Possession of Marijuana Offense in Helmetta New Jersey
A possession of marijuana offense in Helmetta New Jersey can come in two forms under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10. The first variety is possession of over 50 grams of marijuana under 2C:35-10a(3). It is a fourth degree crime to possess this quantity of marijuana, an offense that can only be heard at the Middlesex County Court in New Brunswick. A conviction for fourth degree marijuana possession results in up to 18 months in prison, a fine of up to $25,000, a 6-month suspension of driver’s license, and/or
100 hours of community service (if the possession was in a school zone and you are not sentenced to jail).
The second form of marijuana possession in Helmetta arises when the quantity possessed is 50 grams or less. Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana is a disorderly persons offense under 2C:35-10a(4) that is heard in Helmetta Municipal Court. The possible sentence for this charge includes up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, a 6-month suspension of driver’s license, and/or 100 hours of community service (if the possession was in a school zone and you are not sentenced to jail)
The Conditional Discharge Program. This program is available to first-time offenders. It is a program that allows someone to avoid prosecution, a conviction, and a criminal record by following a few court-imposed requirements for a period of time. Thus, like its title suggests, you are “discharged” from criminal consequences if you meet several court-imposed “conditions.” The conditions are similar to probation, whereby you need to report to a court officer periodically, go to drug testing periodically, or other conditions. Typically, the conditions last for a period of a few months to a year. The benefits from the program are substantial, because it gives you a chance to avoid a criminal record – which is something that stays with you every time you apply for a job. A Marshall Firm attorney can advise you about the Conditional Discharge program and other options in response to a marijuana possession charge.
Helmetta Marijuana Possession Attorney
There is no question that marijuana is becoming more accepted and more prevalent in our society, particularly among young people. That ease of access should not lull you into a sense of security that marijuana possession is permitted. It is still illegal, and can even lead to imprisonment. If you were unlucky enough to be caught possessing marijuana, make sure that you get the best criminal defense lawyer to help you. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have a proven track record of success helping clients charged with marijuana possession avoid serious consequences for the charge, and can even try to have the charge dismissed completely. Call our attorneys to learn more about how we can help you. Our lawyers are available to speak with you 24/7. The first consultation is free. Call 732-246-7126 to learn more.