• We are

    Available 24/7
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Free Consultations
Piscataway Office
New Brunswick Office
East Brunswick Office
Woodbridge Office
Call Now

Middlesex County Criminal Defense Lawyer

  • Over 100 Years of Combined Experience
  • Practice Exclusively in DUI & Criminal Defense
  • Former County & Municipal Prosecutors
  • Decades of Case Success Stories

Middlesex NJ Marijuana Possession Attorney

There were almost 500 disorderly persons offenses issued in the municipality of Middlesex in 2016 and many of these charges were for possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana. If you were charged with possession of marijuana in Middlesex New Jersey, an attorney who is adept in defending this type of offense is going to provide you with the best opportunity to avert the negative ramifications of a conviction. Lawyers at the Marshall Firm have the qualifications that you need to secure a positive result in your possession of marijuana case in the Borough of Middlesex. We have over 100 years practicing in the trenches of Middlesex County, including in Middlesex Municipal Court. To speak to an attorney at the firm immediately, contact our Piscataway Office. Attorneys can be reached 24/7 by calling 732-562-0308.

Charged With Marijuana Possession in Middlesex New Jersey

An individual can you face one of two grades of Middlesex marijuana possession offense under N.J.S.A 2C:35-10. The first variety is set forth in 2C:35-10a(3) and applies when someone possesses over 50 grams of marijuana. Possessing marijuana in such a quantity for personal use as opposed distribution is a fourth degree crime punishable by up to a $25,000 fine and up to 18 months in prison. The second class of possession of marijuana is contained at 2C:35-10a(4) and applies when someone has 50 grams or less of marijuana in Middlesex New Jersey. A conviction on this marijuana charge results in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in the county jail. Possessing marijuana in either quantity in a school zone also triggers at least 100 hours of community service. A mandatory driver’s license suspension of 6-24 months must be imposed at the time of sentencing under 2C:35-10. This revocation applies on top of any that may be imposed in the event that the Middlesex NJ marijuana possession charge resulted in issuance of a ticket for possession of CDS in a motor vehicle.

In order to be found guilty of possession of marijuana, the prosecutor must prove that you knowingly possessed marijuana either actually or constructively in the Borough of Middlesex. Possessing marijuana actually means that the drug is in your direct custody. Constructive possession applies where someone is not in custody of CDS but is aware of its presence and will exercise control in the future such as, for example, where marijuana is hidden in a car or residence.

A conviction for possession of marijuana in Middlesex can be avoided through Conditional Discharge or Pretrial Intervention. Both diversion programs are limited to first time offenders and have strict eligibility guidelines. You are enc0uraged to consult with an knowledgeable attorney if you are interested in obtaining admission into either program.

Middlesex NJ Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer

Marijuana possession is far more complicated in New Jersey than many other states with serious penalties for those convicted under 2C:35-10 in Middlesex New Jersey. If you are facing a disorderly persons offense for possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana in Middlesex Municipal Court or a fourth degree crime for possessing more, you definitely need to consider contacting a defense lawyer at our firm.  For an immediate consultation with the attorneys at the Marshall Law Firm, contact our Piscatawy Office for a free consultation. An attorney is available to discuss your case 24/7 by calling 732-562-0308.