Courts We Serve
- 18 February, 2018
- 27 December, 2016
- 26 December, 2016
Milltown NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyer
There are far more charges for marijuana possession in Milltown than you would expect for a municipality spanning 1.59 miles and having 6,893 residents. This small borough processed over 300 disorderly persons offenses in 2016 and a large percentage involved individuals charged with possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana in Milltown. If you were arrested for possessing marijuana in this Middlesex County municipality, our attorneys have the skill to help you move ahead with your life with minimum impact from this charge. A lawyer at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, including our former prosecutors, will utilize the firm’s 100 plus years of experience to secure the best outcome possible. You can obtain a free consultation from a highly knowledgeable attorney by contacting our East Brunswick Office at 732-227-1200. Lawyers are available immediately to assist you.
Marijuana Possession Offense in Milltown New Jersey
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, it is either a fourth degree crime or disorderly persons offense to possess marijuana. Possession of over 50 grams of marijuana is a felony charge of the fourth degree in accordance with 2C:35-10a(3) that must be dealt with at the Middlesex Cout Superior Court in New Brunswick. Possessing 50 grams or less of marijuana is a disorderly persons offense under 2C:35-10a(4) that falls within the authority of the Milltown Municipal Court. An individual is guilty of this offense if actually or constructively possesses marijuana. Actual possession means physical custody. Constructive possession applies where someone does not have custody but is aware of the presence of the marijuana and has both the ability and intention of exercising control in the future. If you knowingly possessed marijuana in this manner, you are in violation of 2C:35-10.
Penalties If You Are Convicted Of A Milltown Possession of Marijuana Charge
The penalties for possessing 50 grams or less of marijuana include a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in the county jail. Fourth degree possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana results in a fine of up to $25,000 and up to 18 months in prison. In addition, an individual convicted of marijuana possession is subject to a driver’ license suspension ranging from 6 months to 2 years. If you are convicted possession of marijuana and the conduct occurred in a school zone (i.e. within 1,000 of school property), you must also perform at least 100 hours of community service. These penalties are negated if you are a first time offender and successfully complete the Conditional Discharge or Pretrial Intervention Program.
Milltown Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney
Marijuana is still illegal in New Jersey resulting in much more severe consequences for those who possess this controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”) than you might expect. The drug can result in a loss of your driving privileges and a wide range of other penalties. Retaining a defense attorney who has significant experience fighting 2C:35-10 charges in Milltown and at the county courthouse is precisely what you need if you were arrested for this violation. The lawyers at our New Brunswick Office have the skills you need to achieve a favorable outcome. If you would like to speak to a lawyer who can effectively protect you against a finding of guilt, call 732-246-7126. Attorneys are prepared to assist you immediately.