Courts We Serve
- 27 December, 2016
- 26 December, 2016
- 3 December, 2016
Woodbridge NJ Methamphetamine Possession Lawyer
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, it is a third degree crime to possess a Schedule II controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”) like methamphetamine in Woodbridge or any other municipality in Middlesex County. What this means is that you will have a felony record and be subject to serious penalties for possessing the smallest quantity of methamphetamine. Given this circumstance, it is important that you consult an experienced defense lawyer if you have been charged with methamphetamine possession in Woodbridge, Piscataway, Perth Amboy or East Brunswick. This need would certainly be even more pressing to you if you are facing a distribution of methamphetamine offense. The lawyers on our defense team include four (4) former prosecutors, including a former supervisor at the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office, and a staff of seven (7) attorneys with over 100 years of collective experience. We also happen to have a New Brunswick Office located directly across from the Superior Court where all methamphetamine cases are heard. Give us a call any time of day at 732-246-7126 for a free consultation.
New Jersey Methamphetamine Possession Law
By definition, methamphetamine possession is always an indictable felony crime in New Jersey. An individual may be found guilty for possessing methamphetamine if: (1) they knowingly or purposely, obtained or possessed methamphetamine, irrespective of whether the possession was actually or constructive; and (2) the drug was not obtained in accordance with a valid prescription. Constructive possession is established where there is an intention to exercise control over the drug. This can be establish through direct evidence such as admission or third party testimony. Constructive possession may also be established through circumstantial evidence that supports a reasonable inference that the accused possessed an intention to take control over the methamphetamine at some point in time.
Penalties for Possession of Methamphetamine in New Jersey. An individual convicted of this third degree crime faces three (3) to five (5) years in prison, as well as a fine up to $35,000, as prescribed by N.J.S.A 2C:35-10(a)(1). In addition, if the violation occurs while on any property owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board, or within 1,000 feet thereof, a period of 100 hours of community service applies. Finally, a mandatory drivers license suspension of six (6) month to two (2) years is to be imposed upon conviction for methamphetamine possession.
Division Programs. For those who are first time offenders and have not had the benefit of a diversion program previously like Pretrial Intervention (“PTI”), Condition Dismissal or Conditional Discharge, they may apply to have prosecution of their case diverted. If they are admitted into PTI and successfully complete the program, the charge is dismissed without any record of conviction.
New Brunswick NJ Possession of Methamphetamine Defense Attorneys
If you or a loved one was arrested in New Brunswick, Sayreville, Old Bridge, South Plainfield or Carteret for possession of methamphetamine, our attorneys are prepared to come to your assistance. Meth charges are not anything that can be ignored or taken lightly as indicated by this discussion, so it is important that you contact a skilled lawyer so that your interests may be protected. A lawyer with decades in practice is just a telephone call away and initial consultations are free. Contact our Woodbridge Office at 732-634-0700 for immediate counsel from an attorney at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall.
The methamphetamine possession lawyers at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall defend clients charged in New Brunswick, Piscataway, Old Bridge, East Brunswick, Perth Amboy, South Plainfield, Woodbridge, Carteret, South Brunswick, Sayreville and in other municipalities in Middlesex County NJ.